The World SF Blog

Speculative Fiction from Around the World

Author Week #1: Ekaterina Sedia!

I’m glad to introduce a new feature here at the World SF Blog: Author Week, a week-long celebration of an international author. We kick off this week with our first featured author, Ekaterina Sedia. Born and raised in Russia, and now living in the United States, she is the author of novels According to Crow (2005), The Secret History of Moscow (2007), The Alchemy of Stone (2008), and The House of Discarded Dreams (2010). She has also edited the World Fantasy Award winning anthology, Paper Cities (2008), and anthology Running with the Pack (2010).

This week we’ll have an exclusive interview with Sedia; a short story; a review of her latest novel, The House of Discarded Dreams; a guest-post by Sedia; and, finally, a book giveaway!

Three readers can have the chance to win one of Ekaterina Sedia’s books. We have copies available of House of Discarded Dreams, Alchemy of Stone, The Secret History of Moscow and of Running with the Pack. To win one of these, simply leave your name and e-mail address in the comments to this post, as well as specifying which title you would like. Winners will be chosen at random and announced at the end of the week. This post will remain up until then.

We hope you enjoy!

January 31, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

33 Comments

  1. I’d love to get The House of Discarded Dreams, since it’s the only one that I haven’t got yet. :)

    Comment by Milena | January 31, 2011

  2. I am very intrigued by The Alchemy of Stone .

    Comment by Anabel | January 31, 2011

  3. I’d love The Secret History of Moscow!

    Comment by Catherine | January 31, 2011

  4. Exciting! I’d like The Secret History of Moscow.

    Comment by Aishwarya | January 31, 2011

  5. I would love to read “The House of Discarded Dreams”.
    The synopsis is great! And shame on me for not knowing this author!

    Comment by Durão | January 31, 2011

  6. I’d love to read The Secret History of Moscow

    Comment by Pavel Itzkov | January 31, 2011

  7. [...] Pirms kāda laika es rakstīju par “Maskavas slepeno vēsturi“. Šodien The World SF Blog ir publicēta interviija ar tās autori un tiek rīkota izloze. Trīs cilvēki laimēs kādu viņas grāmatu. MSS beigās ievietotie abu nākamo romānu sākumi likās gluži interesanti, tā ka es pati arī varētu piedalīties, ja izdomāšu, kuru grāmatu gribētu vairāk. Bet, ja arī grāmatu negribat, tur var uzzināt visu ko jaunu par vēl nedzirdētiem fantastikas un fantāzijas rakstniekiem no dažādām pasaules malām, kā arī lasīt stāstus. I'm glad to introduce a new feature here at the World SF Blog: Author Week, a week-long celebration of an international author. We kick off this week with our first featured author, Ekaterina Sedia. Born and raised in Russia, and now living in the United States, she is the author of novels According to Crow (2005), The Secret History of Moscow (2007), The Alchemy of Stone (2008), and The House of Discarded Dreams (2010). She has also edited the W … Lasīt tālāk [...]

    Pingback by Grāmatu izloze « Lasītājas piezīmes | January 31, 2011

  8. I’m interested in The Secret History of Moscow

    Comment by JUAN D GOMEZ V | January 31, 2011

  9. I love Ekaterina Sedia’s works. She is an excellent writer and I am looking forward to this week. It looks awesome.
    Please sign me in the competition too, because I would certainly like a copy of “Running with the Pack” :)

    Comment by Mihai (Dark Wolf) | January 31, 2011

  10. I would dearly love The House of Discarded Dreams.

    Comment by Aliya Whiteley | January 31, 2011

  11. I’d love a copy of Running with the Pack.

    Comment by Carly | January 31, 2011

  12. The Secret History of Moscow, please?

    Comment by Matt | January 31, 2011

  13. The Secret History of Moscow.

    Comment by Sara | January 31, 2011

  14. I would really like The house of discarded dreams

    Comment by Ruth | January 31, 2011

  15. Running with the Pack would be great to get. I have Secret History of Moscow to read on my vacation.

    Comment by Glennis | January 31, 2011

  16. The House of Discarded Dreams

    Comment by Dan | January 31, 2011

  17. I’d love to have The House of Discarded Dreams.

    Comment by Tarja | January 31, 2011

  18. I would love to have “The House of Discarded Dreams” if you are willing to ship to Canada.

    Comment by Ash | January 31, 2011

  19. “According to Crow” sounds fascinating. I really enjoyed “Running with the Pack,” so I’m curious to read some of her work.

    Comment by Rowan | January 31, 2011

  20. I’m already a big fan of Sedia’s work, the novels which I enjoyed (bar According To Crow which I have yet to get) and the short fiction.
    Looking forward to this week…

    Comment by Kev McVeigh | January 31, 2011

  21. I’d love to start reading Sedia’s works with Alchemy of Stone.

    Comment by michael | January 31, 2011

  22. Those all sound amazing, but sign me up for According to Crow!

    Comment by nisababepraised | January 31, 2011

  23. I’d love to read The House of Discarded Dreams.

    Comment by Emily | February 1, 2011

  24. Throwing my hat in for Running With the Pack, since I already have the others.

    Comment by Seth Christenfeld | February 1, 2011

  25. I’d like The Secret History of Moscow!

    Comment by Kevin | February 1, 2011

  26. Nothing ventured, nothing gained … would love to read The Secret History of Moscow.

    Comment by Maureen Kincaid Speller | February 1, 2011

  27. House of Discarded Dreams! I’ve been waiting for it to be returned to the library.

    Comment by Seth E. | February 1, 2011

  28. Thank you for having this draw. I would like The Secret History of Moscow if I get lucky!

    Comment by bill | February 1, 2011

  29. House of Discarded Dreams, please!

    Comment by Ryan | February 1, 2011

  30. Oh, how dare you make me chose which one I want most…I’m torn between Moscow and Alchemy…

    I guess I’ll pick Alchemy, since that’s one I should have read a long time ago :P.

    Thanks for the opportunity!

    Comment by SMD | February 2, 2011

  31. I’d love a copy of According to Crow to round out the collection!

    Comment by Shveta Thakrar | February 4, 2011

  32. I would love to win ‘Running With the Pack’.
    Thanks!

    Comment by Michael Carter | February 4, 2011

  33. Stage 4 Throat Cancer Survival Rate…

    [...]Author Week #1: Ekaterina Sedia! « The World SF Blog[...]…

    Trackback by Stage 4 Throat Cancer Survival Rate | October 21, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

