The World SF Blog

Speculative Fiction from Around the World

Haikasoru Week!

Following our first Author Week – featuring Ekaterina Sedia – which was both a success and a lot of fun (with more forthcoming), we’ve decided to do, in addition, a series of weeks focusing on genre publishers of international fiction, starting with the most exciting imprint to come around in a long time – Haikasoru, the Viz imprint dedicated to publishing Japanese science fiction in English translations, edited by Nick Mamatas.

During the week, we’ll have an exclusive interview with Nick Mamatas; an original novelette by Tow Ubukata; a review of Housuke Nojiri’s Rocket Girls, and The Last Planet, reviewed by Anil Menon; and a guest-editorial, On Japanese SF, from Nick Mamatas.

And, to celebrate the first Japanese title to be nominated for the Philip K. Dick Award this year, we have four copies of Harmony, by the late Project Itoh, to give away!

As before, this post will remain at the top of the blog for the remainder of the week. To enter a chance to win a copy of Harmony, simply post a comment below with your name and e-mail address. We will choose 4 winners at random at the end of the week. And, this being the World SF Blog, we’ll ship them anywhere in the world.

We hope you enjoy’s this week’s unique look at current Japanese SF!

March 21, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

33 Comments

  1. Nice of you to give the world a different view of Japan in these times of sorrow.

    Comment by Juan Diego Gómez | March 21, 2011

  2. Hello:) I’d really like to win a copy of this as it sounds great.

    Comment by Alasdair Stuart | March 21, 2011

  3. Oooh. Commenty-commenty-want-want!

    Comment by Jared | March 21, 2011

  4. I’d love to get my hands on this. Go go Comp!

    Comment by Mercedes F | March 21, 2011

  5. Curiosity gets a comment from me.

    Comment by kev mcveigh | March 21, 2011

  6. I’d like to win this one

    Comment by Odo | March 21, 2011

  7. ooh, looks shiny! please enter me! :)

    Comment by Redhead | March 21, 2011

  8. Thanks for letting me throw my name in the hat for this one.

    Comment by Sam | March 21, 2011

  9. This sounds wonderful!

    Comment by Dustin Monk | March 21, 2011

  10. Yes please!

    Comment by Ben | March 21, 2011

  11. I covet. Give me pleasure! Thanks.

    Comment by Drax | March 21, 2011

  12. I’d love a copy. thanks

    Comment by wygit | March 21, 2011

  13. Looks like a great read.

    Comment by iasa | March 21, 2011

  14. Oooh! Pick me!

    Comment by Rij | March 21, 2011

  15. Commenting & crossing my fingers!

    Comment by johanna | March 21, 2011

  16. Yay for Haikasoru Week!

    Comment by Joey | March 21, 2011

  17. Our prayers are with the people of Japan!
    Thank You!!!

    Comment by Pavel Itzkov | March 21, 2011

  18. Please consider my hat in the ring!

    Comment by iago68 | March 21, 2011

  19. This would be really interesting to read. Thanks for the opportunity!

    Comment by Rachel | March 21, 2011

  20. Great giveaway, count me in :] Loved the interview as well. Haikasoru could use more promotion… I have ordered their books on Book Depository who ship almost everywhere (and got them just fine), so the access itself is there, but I have never *ever* seen a copy on a physical bookstore shelf (and there are many places here in Central Europe that sell Euro-American SF in English).

    Comment by prezzey | March 22, 2011

  21. Thanks to World SF Blog for this opportunity, and to Haikasoru for the giveaway.

    Comment by drpaisley | March 22, 2011

  22. Haikasoru’s a great imprint so far. Sign me up.

    Comment by ssellis | March 22, 2011

  23. Lovin’ the stuff that Haikasoru has been putting out lately. Hope they get around to publishing Chaos Legion.

    Comment by Brandon | March 22, 2011

  24. James Nicoll keeps talking about Haikasoru – I’ll bite!

    Comment by Scott Raun | March 22, 2011

  25. Excellent. Count me in.

    Comment by James E | March 22, 2011

  26. i’m in!

    Comment by julia rose | March 22, 2011

  27. Looks like a nifty book, that – got pointed here by a friend’s review, and it’s definitely something I’d love a copy of.

    Comment by Jason Mathaisson | March 22, 2011

  28. I absolutely love Haikasoru project and their mission to pleasure the rest of the world (primly me of course) by introducing us Japanese imaginary worlds. Because seriously, it’s close to impossible to get your hands on it otherwise. Thank you. My personal favorite this far: Battle Royale… X)

    Comment by Maila Virk | March 22, 2011

  29. One I haven’t read yet! Sweet. I hope I win.

    Comment by Kevin Boyle | March 23, 2011

  30. Ohh, do want!

    Comment by nice&toasty | March 24, 2011

  31. Count me in!

    Comment by Desmond | March 24, 2011

  32. Now there’s a prize I can get behind. I always look forward to reading new (to me) Haikasoru books.

    Comment by Nick H. | March 25, 2011

  33. Well the book sounds incredibly interesting, so here’s hoping I win! (Where have I heard that before?)

    Comment by jamieheron | March 25, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 250 other followers

