The World SF Blog

Speculative Fiction from Around the World

Apex Book of World SF Interview Series #4: Mélanie Fazi

Melanie FaziThe fourth in our interview series with Apex Book of World SF contributors, conducted by Charles Tan and published over at SF Signal. Up next is French writer Mélanie Fazi:

I was lucky, I guess – it didn’t take too long before I got my first story published. Becoming a professional translator took me longer at the time. It did take me a few years before I got to publish books of my own instead of just stories in anthologies, but I suppose these things always take a bit longer. On the other hand, I never relied on my writing to make a living, so that probably helps a lot – I also work as a professional translator (which allows me to work in the same field and sometimes with the same people). Being recognized mostly as a short story writer also took a few years, as people expect you to publish novels first and maybe occasional stories on the side, not to focus mostly on short fiction. But my most successful book so far happened to be my first collection, Serpentine, rather than my novels, so I guess people came to accept me as a short story writer after that.Read the rest of the interview.

November 8, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

