The World SF Blog

Speculative Fiction from Around the World

Rochita Loenen-Ruiz: Writing from the Context of my Culture

Over at Ecstatic Days,Rochita Loenen-Ruiz has an essay on Writing from the Context of my Culture:

That a lot of Filipinos believe in the superiority of what’s foreign is a sad truth. It’s just like how Filipinos insist on bleaching their beautiful brown skin because they believe white is a superior color.

But I love the Filipino color. I love our beautiful brown skin and I don’t see why we need to be whiter. It’s just in this way that I love our beautiful Filipino culture. It is bright and colorful and filled with so many nuances. We are not just the color of earth, we are not just the beating of gongs, what we are includes the interweaving with other cultures. We are indigenous and multicultural at the same time.

Sometime ago, a Filipino poet told me that we should be multi-genre’d because we are multicultural. I still think on those words and I think it’s an exciting time to be a Filipino Speculative fiction writer.read the rest of the essay.

December 17, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

