S&S and Tor to Release Russian Fantasy Trilogy by Alexey Pehov

CORRECTED from previous version erroneously attributing publication to Gollancz (thanks Simon!)

Alexey Pehov‘s Shadow Prowler, the first book of The Chronicles of Siala, translated by Andrew Bromfield (best known for translating the Night Watch books), to be published by Tor (US) and Simon & Schuster (UK).

ABOUT PEHOV (from his website):

Alexey Pehov is a fantasy and science fiction writer who has gained popularity in Russia as the author of nine books (seven fantasy novels, one post-apocalyptic fantasy, and also the author’s collected stories).

Pehov’s first novel to be translated into English, SHADOW PROWLER, the first book in a trilogy, was sold in a pre-empt to Tom Doherty at Tor Books for six figures. Shortly after it sold in the U.S., the series found success in the foreign markets, with Simon & Schuster in the UK pre-empting the trilogy with a six-figure deal at the Frankfurt Book Fair, and Piper buying the series at auction for the German market.

SHADOW PROWLER (first published in Russia in 2002 as STEALTH IN THE SHADOWS) was the first book in the series THE CHRONICLES OF SIAL, and became one of Russia’s biggest, most successful debuts.At the international fantasy convention Star Bridge (held in Kharkov, Ukraine, in 2002), STEALTH IN THE SHADOWS received the award from the publishing house The Sword Without a Name for best debut in the adventure and fantasy genre published in a large volume.

Later that year, the complete CHRONICLES OF SIAL series was awarded the highest professional honor, the Silver Kaduzei.  The trilogy was also recognized as the best fantasy series of 2003. Today, THE CHRONICLES OF SIAL (STEALTH IN THE SHADOWS, DGANGA DANCE WITH SHADOWS, and BLIZZARD OF SHADOWS) are the most popular fantasy books in Russia, with many role playing clubs inspired by the books. A computer game based on the books is also being developed.

Pehov’s 2004 novel, UNDER THE SIGN OF THE MANTIKOR, has been met by readers and critics no less favorably. At the international fantasy convention Portal (held in Kiev, Ukraine), the book received awards for qualitative growth of literary skill.

In the same year, 2004, Russia’s largest fantasy magazine, World of Fantasy (selected as Best Magazine, Europe-2006 by the European Science Fiction Society, ESFS), named UNDER THE SIGN OF THE MANTIKOR The Book of Year, as well as the best novel in the genre of fantasy.

Alexey Pehov’s fantasy series THE WIND AND THE SPARKS (the first book, SELECTORS OF A WIND, was published in 2005; the second book, THE WIND OF A WORMWOOD, in 2006) was selected again by the Russian fantasy community as the best series of 2006 and also received the Silver Kaduzei award.

Pehov’s stories and novels are published in leading Russian fantasy magazines and anthologies on a regular basis. The author’s story collection, THE DARK HUNTER, by the end of 2006, had become the most commercially successful fantasy collection in Russia. At Eurokon 2006 (held in Kiev, Ukraine), Alexey Pehov was nominated for a rank of the best selling young European short stories fantasy writer in the (ESFS).

Alexey Pehov was born on March 30th, 1978. He completed his studies at Moscow State Medical University with an internship and postgraduate study at the Central Science Institute, Ministry of Health of the Russian Federation; he specialized in orthodontics. He is married to Elena Bychkova, a professional journalist and science fiction writer; they have written some novels together.


After centuries of calm, the Nameless One is stirring.

An army is gathering; thousands of giants, ogres, and other creatures are joining forces from all across the Desolate Lands, united, for the first time in history, under one black banner. By the spring, or perhaps sooner, the Nameless One and his forces will be at the walls of the great city of Avendoom.

Unless Shadow Harold, master thief, can find some way to stop them.

Epic fantasy at its best, Shadow Prowler is the first in a trilogy that follows Shadow Harold on his quest for a magic Horn that will restore peace to the Kingdom of Siala. Harold will be accompanied on his quest by an Elfin princess, Miralissa, her elfin escort, and ten Wild Hearts, the most experienced and dangerous fighters in their world…and by the king’s court jester (who may be more than he seems…or less).
Reminiscent of Moorcock’s Elric series, Shadow Prowler is the first work to be published in English by the bestselling Russian fantasy author Alexey Pehov. The book was translated by Andrew Bromfield, best known for his work on the highly successful Night Watch series.

One thought on “S&S and Tor to Release Russian Fantasy Trilogy by Alexey Pehov

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: