The World SF Blog

Speculative Fiction from Around the World

Some Philippine Speculative Fiction Links

There’s a part of me that feels guilty promoting Philippine speculative fiction on this blog (it feels self-serving) but for those who are interested, there’s been a couple of new fiction and an interview as of late.

First off, Fantasy Magazine has an interview with Rochita Loenen-Ruiz. Here’s an excerpt:

“Hi Bugan ya Hi Kinggawan” was my attempt to carry on a conversation with a woman whose name is often used in Ifugao mythology. I thought that I could write this story with ease because I grew up with the culture and the customs of the Ifugao. Later on, I found myself checking and double-checking. The thing is, I am writing about a culture that exists and I don’t want to contribute to any misconceptions.  Ifugao continues to be a sacred place that I want to pay tribute to. Each time I write about it, I feel like I am saying thank you for all the glorious days that I spent in those mountains. Salamat (thank you).

Then there’s a couple of stories here and there:

And my friend Joseph Nacino co-edited an online anthology, Demons of the New Year.

April 2, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

1 Comment

  1. Hi there

    Thanks for linking to my story, Alien Hand.

    I really appreciate it. I’m happy to see all these links and wouldn’t have found them without your help so thank you. I’m always interested in reading Filipino writers.

    All best,
    Grace

    Comment by Grace T | April 14, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

