The World SF Blog

Speculative Fiction from Around the World

Nnedi Okorafor on African Science Fiction

Nnedi Okorafor writes:

Just returned from my first Who Fears Death book signing (not including Wiscon) at Schuler Books & Music in Lansing, MI. Wow…I need to process it. There was a wonderful turnout! And it was wonderfully organized.
Nevertheless, during the question and answer portion of it, I was basically accosted by ironically my own people, African academics (who had NOT read the book).
Apparently, it’s a no no to mix African cultures in a future Africa. When I reiterated that Who Fears Death is a mix of traditional African Lit, science fiction, and fantasy of a magical realist persuasion, there was more harrumphing and scowling.
Continues, with discussion in the comments, here.

June 4, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

