The World SF Blog

Speculative Fiction from Around the World

Interview with Lavie Tidhar and Nir Yaniv

I interviewed Lavie Tidhar and Nir Yaniv on their novel, The Tel Aviv Dossier, over at SF Signal. Here’s an excerpt:

What made you decide to set the story in Tel Aviv? What is it about that city that you find interesting?

LT: We couldn’t pass up the opportunity to entirely destroy it! I think it looked better when we were done with it. We were signing books yesterday near the municipality building, next to that huge, awful “sculpture” that’s been slowly rusting in the square for more years than it had any right to – and we both kind of looked at it and wished, for just a moment, that some supernatural catastrophe would happen just so we can see it gone.

Or maybe that’s just me.

NY: As long as the catastrophe is limited to that particular piece of “art”, I’m with you. However, being a long time resident of Tel Aviv, I prefer my own apartment to stay untouched. But I wasn’t born here – I grew up in the northern part of Israel – so I still know what it is to be an outsider here, which served me quite well when writing the book. Every day, riding my motorbike here and there in the city, I used to imagine all those buildings falling apart and the vehicles around me flying around and the people, the poor people. A piece of advice for beginning writers: never imagine anything while writing a motorbike. Really. Expert stuntmen were used in writing this book.

June 17, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

