Prix Aurora Award Finalists Announced

The Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association / Associatin canadienne de la science-fiction et du fantastique has announced the finalists for the Prix Aurora:

Professional Awards

Best English Novel
Black Bottle Man by Craig Russell, Great Plains Publications
Destiny’s Blood
 by Marie Bilodeau, Dragon Moon Press
Stealing Home 
by Hayden Trenholm, Bundoran Press
Under Heaven
 by Guy Gavriel Kay, Viking Canada
, by Robert J. Sawyer, Penguin Canada

Best English Short Story
The Burden of Fire
 by Hayden Trenholm, Neo-Opsis #19
Destiny Lives in the Tattoo’s Needle
 by Suzanne Church, Tesseracts Fourteen, EDGE
The Envoy
 by Al Onia, Warrior Wisewoman 3, Norilana Books
Touch the Sky, They Say
 by Matt Moore, AE: The Canadian Science Fiction Review, November
Your Beating Heart by M. G. Gillett, Rigor Amortis, Absolute Xpress

Best English Poem / Song
The ABCs of the End of the World 
by Carolyn Clink, A Verdant Green, The Battered Silicon Dispatch Box
Let the Night In by Sandra Kasturi, Evolve: Vampire Stories of the New Undead, EDGE
Of the Corn: Kore’s Innocence by Colleen Anderson, Witches & Pagans #21
The Transformed Man by Robert J. Sawyer, Tesseracts Fourteen, EDGE
Waiting for the Harrowing by Helen Marshall, ChiZine 45

Best English Graphic Novel
Tarol Hunt,
Looking For Group
, Vol. 3 by Ryan Sohmer and Lar DeSouza
, Volume 1 by Von Allan, Von Allan Studio
Tomboy Tara, 
Emily Ragozzino,

Best English Related Work
Douglas Smith (collection), ChiZine Publications
The Dragon and the Stars,
 edited by Derwin Mak and Eric Choi, DAW
Evolve: Vampire Stories of the New Undead,
 edited by Nancy Kilpatrick, EDGE
On Spec, 
edited by Diane Walton, Copper Pig Writers Society
Tesseracts Fourteen,
 edited by John Robert Colombo and Brett Alexander Savory, EDGE

Best Artist (Professional and Amateur)
(An example of each artist’s work is listed below but they are to be judged on the body of work they have produced in the award year)
Lynne Taylor Fahnestalk
Brekky cover art, On Spec Fall
Erik Mohr
, cover art for ChiZine Publications
Christina Molendyk
Girls of Geekdom Calendar for Argent Dawn Photography
Dan O’Driscoll
, cover art for Stealing Home
Aaron Paquette
A New Season cover art, On Spec Spring


Fan/ Amateur Awards

Best Fan Publications
No award will be given out.  We received insufficient nominations for this category to be eligible.

Best Fan Filk
Dave Clement and Tom Jeffers
 of Dandelion Wine for “Face on Mars” CD
Karen Linsley
; concert as SFContario Guest of Honour
Phil Mills
, for “Time Traveller” (song writing)

Best Fan Organizational
Andrew Gurudata
, organizing the Constellation Awards
Brent M. Jans
, chair of Pure Speculation (Edmonton)
Liana Kerzner
, chair of Futurecon (Toronto)
Helen Marshall
 and Sandra Kasturi, chairs of Toronto SpecFic Colloquium (Toronto)
Alex Von Thorn
, chair of SFContario (Toronto)

Best Fan Other
Tom Jeffers
, Fundraising, FilKONtario
John and Linda Ross Mansfield
, Conception of the Aurora Nominee pins
Lloyd Penney
, Articles, columns and letters of comment – fanzines


One thought on “Prix Aurora Award Finalists Announced

  1. Only because On Spec was the 1 Canadian sf mag I’ve read in the past, I found it interesting that it wasn’t the source for any of the best short story nominees and is listed as “related work.”

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: