The World SF Blog

Speculative Fiction from Around the World

European SF Awards Announced

ESFS Awards at 33-rd Eurocon in Stockholm, Sweden

European Grand Master
Sam Lundwall (Sweden)

Hall of Fame

Best Author
Alastair Reynolds (United Kingdom)

Best Artist
David Hardy (United Kingdom)

Best Translator
Attila Németh (Hungary)

Best Magazine
Ubiq (Croatia) (Russian Federation)

Best Publisher
Lenizdat (Russian Federation)

Best Promoter
Louis Savy (United Kingdom)
Oleg Kolesnikov – (Russian Federation)

Spirit of Dedication

Ivan Mavrović (Croatia)

Best Fanzine
Parsek (Croatia)

Best Dramatic Presentation
Aniara (Sweden)

Encouragement Awards

Jan Polacek (Czech Republic)
Maria Ryapolova (Ukraine)
Hanu Rajaniemi (Finland)
Mariam Petrosyan (Armenia)
Tim Skorenko (Belarus)
Michal Jedinak (Slovakia)
Ákos Kovács (Hungary)
Stefana Czeller (Romania)
Ivan Kuznetsov (Russia)

Honorary Award

Vlado Risa (Czech Republic)
Svetlana Bondarenko (Ukraine)

EUROCON 2013 is granted to Kiev, Ukraine

Eurocon 2012 will be held in Zagreb, Croatia


June 21, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,


  1. […] premii de încurajare. Lavie Tidhar afişează exact aceeaşi listă pe care am publicat-o şi noi, aici. Iar dinspre delegaţii români, […]

    Pingback by Ştefana Czeller, premiantă la Eurocon? « Ugly Bad Bear's | June 21, 2011

  2. One of the Romanian delegates told me that there were no Encouragement Awards this year… Is he bullshitting me? Where did zou get the list from?

    Comment by uglybadbear | June 21, 2011

    • Officially, the Award was granted right after Romanians sent their nominations list to Dave and Bridget. The wrong thing was no one even announced the list during ESFS meetings – only at the Awards Ceremony. Encouragement Awards are granted automatically by national nominations on the basis of 1 nominee per country.

      Comment by Boris Sidyuk | June 22, 2011

      • Thanks, Boris. Thing is, our Romanian friends said that the Encouragement Awards were not even mentioned at the aeards ceremony… That’s what made me wonder. Maybe our guys left the ceremony earlier.

        Comment by uglybadbear | July 1, 2011

  3. […] Die Award-Seite der ESFS hat leider noch keine Informationen, aber bei World SF wird man fündig: „European SF Awards announced“. […]

    Pingback by ESFS-Awards 2011 – Die Preisträger | Fandom Observer | June 22, 2011

  4. Good to see Louis Savy of SCI-FI-LONDON.COM get an award for Best Promoter. He works tirelessly all year round promoting and presenting the best sci-fi film from across Europe and deserves the recognition.

    Comment by Robert Grant | June 23, 2011

  5. No, he piss-shitting you 🙂

    Comment by Sick of SMUBB | June 23, 2011

  6. As a US fan I find it interesting that the awards go to individuals as opposed to works, in contrast to the Hugos.

    Comment by amy west | June 25, 2011

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

%d bloggers like this: