The World SF Blog

Speculative Fiction from Around the World

From Bar to Bar interviews Braulio Tavares

From Bar to Bar has an interview with Braulio Tavares. Here’s his bio (from the site):

Braulio Tavares was born in 1950, in Campina Grande, a city in Brazilian North-East, and now lives in Rio de Janeiro. He studied cinema and social sciences but left both courses without getting a degree. He is a songwriter with some 60 songs professionally recorded, and works as a journalist, TV writer and translator (he has translated books by H. G. Wells, R. L. Stevenson, Isaac Asimov, Tim Powers, etc). In 1989 he won the coveted Caminho Award for SF, in Portugal, with his collection A Espinha Dorsal da Memória (The Backbone of Memory). He has published more than 20 volumes of poetry, fiction and literary essays. He is also the author of the Brazilian entries both in The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction (ed. Peter Nicholls and John Clute) and The Encyclopedia of Fantasy (ed. John Clute & John Grant). His stories have been published in the USA, Canada, Portugal, Russia and Latvia. He is also a member of the Science Fiction Research Association (SFRA). His story “Stuntmind” was selected for the anthology “Cosmos Latinos” (ed. Andrea Bell & Yolanda Molina-Gavilán). He has edited four anthologies of fantastic fiction for Casa da Palavra (Rio de Janeiro), with two more due to appear in 2011.

And here’s an excerpt:

“I read SF since I was a kid, and many times I had the sensation that I was the only person who enjoyed those books.  Years passed, and I got a small number of friends who shared my taste for the genre until, circa 1986, when I was already living in Rio, I got in touch with the CLFC, “Clube de Leitores de Ficção Científica” (SF Readers Club), through Roberto Nascimento, from São Paulo.  Then I started writing SF seriously.  But at that time I was a published author, after a career in jornalism and other writing jobs. I had already written some thousands of newspaper articles, many of them movie reviews. I had published some books of poetry, and a good number of mainstream and fantastic short stories, in magazines or literary journals.  And I had already published, in chapbook form, one of my most successful books, The Stone of Midday or Artur and Isadora, what we call in Brazil’s Northeast “folheto de cordel”, a fantasy tale in verse, aimed at young readers.”

July 25, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

