The World SF Blog

Speculative Fiction from Around the World

The Guilded Earlobe interviews Mainak Dhar

The Guilded Earlobe has an interview with Indian author Mainak Dhar, who has written several zombie novels.

Here’s an excerpt from the interview:

One of the things I talked about in my review is how the majority of my Zombie book experiences have been set in either the United States or the UK. How popular is the zombie subgenre in India? How has your novels been received around the world?

Mainak Dhar: The zombie sub-genre is not very popular in India, and no Indian writer has to my knowledge really written in it. But then there always has to be someone who pioneers a new genre. I had been traditionally published in India by majors like Random House and Penguin, but reached out to international readers through the Amazon Kindle only in March 2011. I am really grateful for how international readers have received my work- I’ve sold well over 100,000 copies in my first year on the Kindle store. I began my journey by uploading some of my backlist but in the last 12 months, I’ve written three all new books- Zombiestan, Alice in Deadland and Through The Looking Glass (the sequel to Alice in Deadland) which were uploaded first to the Kindle. Now it’s time to take some of them back to Indian readers. I’ve signed a deal with a major Indian publisher for Zombiestan, and the Indian edition should be releasing in September. I am also in discussions with them for the Alice in Deadland trilogy. By the time the year is over, I hope to see my zombies rampaging through the shelves of Indian bookstores.

May 3, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

