The World SF Blog

Speculative Fiction from Around the World

Angel G. Angelov’s The Act of Walking on Water (Bulgaria)

Over at Locus Roundtable, Harry Markov discusses Angel G. Angelov‘s 1009 short story collection The Act of Walking on Water:

Despite my good intentions, I have never served as a connoisseur of international fiction, given I own a small tomb of books I’ve been building since I first started reading in English. English still possesses my imagination in its entirety and I have yet to oversaturate my yearning for books by English speaking authors. The sole and striking exception to my reading habits is the collection of short stories penned by the Bulgarian author Angel G. Angelov titled The Act of  Walking on Water published in 2009.

Every title in my review remains an unsure effort on my part to translate asThe Act of Walking on Water has been published exclusively in Bulgarian without an official translation (I’m more than interested to help translate the  collection and in my wildest dreams Jeff VanderMeer e-mails me to make this happen) and in one limited run, all stuff hipster dreams are made of. In short, Angelov’s work is essential, because it successfully blurs genre lines and is what I’d call a continuation of the ‘weird’ literary movement wrapped in the sexual throws of magical realism. It’s a bold claim based more on my emotional response to his imagery and treatment of each situation narrative-wise rather than any  extensive back-reading and experience in both movements. – continue reading.

October 12, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

1 Comment

  1. Angelov’s work may appear angelic to Markov, but the description reeks of content hostile to women — and contrary to what he states, there are no “Leucades” from which unlucky lovers jumped; only an apocryphal tale of the Hellenistic era that Sapfó the great poet jumped from a cliff in the Ionian island of Lefkás when she was thwarted in love. And if you want to know how likely that was, read my essay on Sapfó at Stone Telling: The Blackbird Singing at the Break of Hellenic Dawn: Sapfó of Lésvos

    Comment by Athena Andreadis (@AthenaHelivoy) | October 13, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

