An Overview of International Science Fiction and Fantasy, 2010

Jeff VanderMeer, S. Boyd Taylor, and various contributors (including Lavie and myself) are part of Locus Online’s An Overview of International Science Fiction and Fantasy, 2010. If you’re curious as to what was published last year, do check out that article. Here’s an excerpt:

Although my year’s best selections included some international fiction, I thought it would be of use to compile a few “core samples” of work, mostly in other languages, that my contacts found of particular interest in 2010. This year I decided to exclude Australia and New Zealand because writers from those countries have received extensive coverage in SF/Fantasy media. It’s worth noting, too, that the term “International Fiction” or “World SF” requires further specificity of detail, in the sense that some countries have a stronger tradition of supporting non-realistic fiction than others. In addition, some countries have a stronger tradition of supporting their own authors than others. (For example, the Russian books noted represent just a fraction of Russian authors published there.)
I would also note that this is of necessity a haphazard sample — several of my queries went unanswered and some people did not have time to compile lists. Still, an incomplete overview is better than no overview at all. I would welcome any additional recommendations in the comments, and next year we will spread our net much, much wider.

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑